About the Senate

The Utah Constitution assigns legislative power to a part-time citizen legislature that meets each year, beginning on the fourth Monday in January and ending in mid-March. When the legislative session adjourns, senators return home to their homes, families, and regular occupation, to live under the laws they created.

The Utah Senate currently consists of twenty-four men and five women. Occupations include attorneys, businessmen, businesswomen, bankers, educators, an engineer, CPAs, homemakers, a pharmacist, a nurse, a doctor, a dentist, an orthodontist, an art-dealer and former university president. Seven of the 29 senators served in the House of Representatives prior to being elected to the Senate.

The political makeup of the Utah State Senate is about 80 percent Republican and 20 percent Democrat.

Do you want to serve? The State Constitution outlines the qualifications to become a senator:

Senators are elected to four-year terms, with roughly half the senate standing for election every two years.

Most Recent Tweet

Loading Twitter Feed...

Individual tweets are not necessarily representative of the entire Utah Senate.