Senate Requests Public Comment on Utah Supreme Court Nominee

March 29, 2022

The Utah Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee is seeking public comment on Diana Hagen, current Court of Appeals Judge, who Gov. Spencer J. Cox appointed to serve as a Justice on the Utah Supreme Court. 

Just as the U.S. Senate confirms appointments made by the president, the Utah Senate confirms appointments made by the governor for Utah’s highest court. Once the governor has selected a candidate who will best serve the needs of Utahns, the Senate Judiciary Confirmation Committee holds a committee hearing in which the appointee, as well as other people, offer statements and answer questions from the committee members. After the hearing, the committee votes on whether to recommend confirmation of the appointee by the full Senate.

“The Senate’s confirmation vote is an important step in the process,” said Sen. Todd Weiler, chair of the Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee. “It’s a responsibility we take very seriously. I look forward to meeting with Judge Hagen and learning how her recent experience as an appellate judge has prepared her for the Utah Supreme Court.”

Those who desire to comment on the individual appointed should contact Utah Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee staff, Jerry Howe at the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, by 5:00 p.m. on Monday, April 11, 2022, at the Utah State Capitol, House Building, Suite W210, PO Box 145210, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5210. All statements should include the respondent’s name, telephone number and mailing address.

The Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee will hold a public hearing, then issue a recommendation to the full Senate. If confirmed by the Senate, Judge Hagen will fill the vacancy left by the retirement of Justice Constandinos Himonas on March 1, 2022.

The Utah Supreme Court has jurisdiction to review state law. The state’s highest court has appellate jurisdiction to hear first-degree and capital felony convictions from the District Courts and judgments of the Court of Appeals by writ of certiorari. Additionally, the Utah Supreme Court reviews formal administrative proceedings of various state commissions, adopts civil and criminal procedure rules and rules of evidence for use in the state courts and governs the practice of law in Utah.



1. Members of the Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee are Sen. Todd Weiler (Chair), Sen. Kirk Cullimore, Sen. David P. Hinkins, Sen. Don L. Ipson, Sen. Jani Iwamoto, Sen. Karen Mayne and Sen. Daniel McCay.

2. Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee information is available here.

3. The committee schedule can be viewed here.

Tags: , , ,